National Bravery Awards 2015

GOI announced the National Bravery Awards 2015. Overall, twenty-five children (3 girls and 22 boys) were selected for the National Bravery Awards 2015. The Award Winners has been selected by a committee comprised of representatives from various Ministries and Departments, NGOs as well as Office Bearers of Indian Council for Child Welfare (ICCW). These children will receive National Bravery Awards 2015 from the Prime Minister of India Narendra Modi on January 24, 2016. Afterwards, these children will participate in the Republic Day parade of India (on January 26, 2016).

 Special Awardees under National Bravery Awards 2015 

  • Bharat Award – 15-year-old Late Gaurav Kawduji Sahastrabuddhe of Maharashtra who sacrificed his life in an attempt to save his four friends
  • Geeta Chopra Award  – 8-year-old Shivampet Ruchitha of Telangana who showed courage in saving two lives when a train hit her school bus
  • Sanjay Chopra Award – 16-year-old Arjun Singh of Uttarakhand who displayed outstanding bravery in fighting a tiger to save his mother.
  • Bapu Gaidhani Awards – Ramdinthara of Mizoram, Rakeshbhai Shanabhai Patel of Gujarat and Aromal S.M. of Kerala.

 National Bravery Award Scheme                                

  • The National Bravery Award Scheme was started by the ICCW.
  • It was established to recognise the children who showed outstanding deeds of bravery and courage.
  • The first bravery award was given in 1957 (a boy and a girl) for their courageous deed. Since then National Bravery Award is conferred every year in collaboration with Government of India.
  • The Bharat Award under National Bravery Award was instituted by ICCW in 1987-88.
  • Geeta Chopra and Sanjay Chopra award was instituted by ICCW in 1978.
  • Bapu Gaidhani Awards was instituted in 1988-89.