Indian Polity Quiz with Answers

1. What amidst the following is not true of the general electoral roll prepared through the agency of the Election Commission ? It is to be used for elections to the

a) Lok Sabha

b) Panchayatiraj and Nagarpalika institutions

c) Legislative Assemblies of the states

d) Legislative Councils of the states where these exit


2. Which of the following categories of citizens of the prescribed age may be registered as a voter ?

a) Bankrupt

b) Convicted for certain crimes or corruption

c) Non-resident citizens

d) Mentally unsound


3. The maximum permissible gap between two sessions of the Parliament is

a) 3 months

b) 4 months

c) 5 months

d) 6 months


4. The system of judicial review originated in

a) India

b) Germany

c) Russia

d) U.S.A.


5. Right to vote is mentioned in the parts of the Constitution relating to

a) Fundamental Rights

b) Union Legislature

c) State Legislature

d) Election


6. A law can be enacted, or executive order issued, even contrary to Article 19, during proclamation of emergency ?

a) caused by war or external aggression

b) caused by internal armed rebellion

c) caused by constitutional breakdown

d) caused by financial crisis


7. Which of the following non-members of Parliament has the right to address it ?

a) Attorney General of India

b) Solicitor General of India

c) Chief Justice of India

d) Chief Election Commissioner


8. The Preamble of the Indian Constitution was for the first time amended by the

a) 24th Amendment

b) 42th Amendment

c) 44th Amendment

d) None of the above


9. What is the implication of the Central Government granting “Special Status” to a State ?

a) Substantially large percentage of the central assistance will be as grants in-aid

b) The extent of loan as a percentage of total assistance will be low

c) Current account budgetary deficit will be bridged by the Central Government

d) Both (1) and (2) above


10. Who among the following decides if a particular Bill is a Money Bill or not ?

a) President

b) Speaker of Lok Sabha

c) Chairman of Rajya Sabha

d) Finance Minister



  1. d
  2. c
  3. d
  4. d
  5. d
  6. a
  7. a
  8. b
  9. d
  10. b