11 January 2017: Daily Current Affairs for IBPS, SBI, RRB, RBI, SSC

Current Affairs

India, Kenya sign agreements in area of agriculture.

India and Kenya today signed agreements in the area of agriculture which were inked after delegation level talks between Prime Minister Narendra Moid and Kenyian President Uhuru Kenyatta in New Delhi.

India announces $100 million Line of Credit to Kenya.

India on Wednesday announced a $100 million Line of Credit to Kenya for agricultural mechanisation after talks between Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Kenyan President Uhuru Kenyatta.

Jimmy Adams appointed new West Indies Cricket Board director.

West Indies turned to former batsman Jimmy Adams to help rebuild the side as he was named their new director of cricket. He replaces Englishman Richard Pybus who had been in the position since November 2013.

Air India launches Fly For Sure scheme.

Air India on 11 January 2017 launched Fly For Sure scheme under which passengers will be offered one-time flight change facility on the same day.

Veteran British war correspondent Clare Hollingworth dies.

Clare Hollingworth, legendary correspondent who first broke the news of the beginning of World War II, passed away on 10 January 2017 following a brief illness. She was 105.

21st National Youth Festival to be held in Rohtak.

The 21st National Youth Festival will commence from 12 January 2017 in Rohtak, Haryana. The Festival will conclude on 16 January 2017. The Festival is organised by the Department of Youth Affairs of Union Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports. It is organised every year on the birth anniversary of Swami Vivekananda.

Fitbit acquires smartwatch maker Vector.

Fitbit has purchased Vector, a one-year-old smartwatch brand based in Romania.

Tisca Chopra wins Best Actress Award for Chutney.

Tisca was named Best Actress for Chutney at the Jio Filmfare Short Film Awards.

PR Sreejesh becomes member of Hockey Athletes’ Committee.

The Indian men’s hockey team captain PR Sreejesh on Wednesday became a member of International Hockey Federation (FIH) Athletes’ Committee. FIH Athletes’ Committee comprises a total of eight current and former hockey players.